looking

i suppose today is supposed to be devoted to rethinking the months past and evaluating what my trajectory for the months future will be.

however, i've never been good at that objective realism. the months past are a series of highlights: a new coat worn proudly at the theatre, browned shoulders flying across warm water on a friend's jet ski, holding pluck's hand was we walk through a dry creek bed, falling asleep in the passenger seat while whirring past the red gold yellow leaves of east tennessee.

subjective, warm, mine. i can only imagine the next year. my son will continue to grow, my love will either grow or start to wilt, my debt will diminish, the adoption will be final, my sister will expatriate herself. i will teach and learn and write and laugh.

perhaps that's all one can hope of any life - especially one this full of ups, downs and inbetweens.