the next day

i had a hard time falling asleep last night. i guess the shooting spooked me cause every time i heard a noise my instinct was to hide from the person coming in to get me.

it didn't help that the stupid ADT monitor kept sounding. see, the bitch doesn't even work - it just beeps when the door opens or closes. so it kept beeping and that just furthered my paranoia that i was going down.

i actually got javi's wooden ballbat to keep in the bed beside me and at one point i even snuck around the house trying to catch the intruder. of course, there wasn't one. there was just me and my overactive imagination.

i didn't fall asleep until billy got home from work around midnight. that wouldn't be so bad except i got hardly any sleep the night before what with javi's flu and my own procrastination on work articles.

but, it's tuesday now and my little guy had a doctor's appointment in a few hours and hopefully they'll be able to help us out of the flu-tagiousness so he can go back to school. he's at my moms and i'm just selfish enough to be glad it was her that had to deal with him throwing up this morning and not me.

i'm just no good with throw up. i'm no good with spooky scary shootings either which is why i obsess over and then ignore them. i got an email from my friend this morning - i think he's doing the same thing. we all cope in different ways...

i will be attending a vigil for rosa and her violence being held tonight at the school. but, i won't be there long - i've got a sick pluck who is my number 1 priority. i think rosa would understand.