late, but not yet latest

damn. of course i'm the only one without an IC entry. wait, i don't think hardrain or chrome have posted yet either.

what to do? i mean, technically i've got another whole day to do it. (it is tuesday right?) and i've got a soft deadline of friday for the "changing face of design" article which i've done NO research for.

so i'll have to decide what to do.

in the meantime, i must admit that while i usually like having humble men tell me i'm beautiful, i'm not that comfortable with 23 year old married el salvadoran exiles crushing all over me. mr. flores, married to a certain carmen, kept calling me beautiful teacher last night in class. no one else thought this was weird. perhaps it's cause he said it in english and my students like to act like english is a disease and use it as infrequently as possible.

flores: beautiful teacher, is love spelled l-e-b-i.
me: no, flores. love is l-o-v-e.
flores: beautiful teacher, how do you spell girl? how do you spell flores love beautiful girl teacher?
me: flores! enough!

of course flores didn't leave the room. instead he forced me to spell things for him while i was trying to figure out paperwork and testing forms.

flower
pretty
bed
girl
boyfriend

and i am seriously considering sending a note home to his wife (a fellow el salvadoran exile) asking her to accompany him to class as i'm afraid tonight he'll be humping my leg like a rabid dog in heat.

of course, i wouldn't mind if ole elias attempted this. elias is my newest student. he's 18, writes spanish (huge feat), and likes to sing during class. his songs are soft short rhymes that make me think of lush vegetation and beautiful women. elias doesn't pay attention in class, doesn't do the group work, won't speak to me in english, rarely looks directly in my eyes. BUT! if i could keep him crooning near me, my day'd be a lot more relaxed.

hmm. i wonder if elias could be my luxury item?